Hledejte v chronologicky řazené databázi studijních materiálů (starší / novější příspěvky).

Australia and New Zeland

(history, geographical features, system of government, lifestyles, regions, sights, industries)

1) Australia
•    6th largest country in the world, smallest continent in the world
•    15 million inhabitants, density about 2 people to one sq. kilometer, 40000 full-blooded Aborigines
•    continental climate, some parts tropical
•    discovered by captain James Cook in 1770 (landed in Botany Bay), colonization after 18 years, discovery of gold in 19th century, 1901 formed the Commonwealth of Australia as a British dominion
•    federal state with Governor General, the Federal Parliament in Canberra, divided into the Senate (60) and the House of Representatives (120)
•    six states: New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, Tasmania
•    three territories: Northern Territory, Coral Sea Islands Territory, Australian Capital Territory
•    education: compulsory to 15 not yet, three types of secondary: technical, academic, general

2) Cities
•    Canberra, capital, founded 1913, modern planned, many open spaces, ¼ million inhabitants, Captain Cook Memorial Waterjet – 134 meters high
•    Melbourne, most elegant, founded 1801, 2nd largest, beautiful parks, museums, galleries, concert halls, three universities (Captain Cook’s cottage), ½ million inhabitants
•    Sydney, oldest, founded 1788, largest, 3 million inhabitants, Opera House, Harbour Bridge
•    Brisbane, 3rd largest, lies on the threshold of the tropics, textile, chemical, food factories, oil refineries, engineering works, paper mills
•    Adelaide, 4th largest, two universities, biggest car factory
•    Perth, industrial city, important port

3) Nature
•    animals: kangaroo, platypus, echidna, termite, dingo dog, koala bear, wild horse, snake, emu
•    plants: eucalyptus tree
•    120 national parks and reservations
•    largest monolith in the world, 600 meters high Ayers Rock
•    most rivers get dry; two big rivers – Murray, Darling
•    2/3 of surface made of deserts – Great Sand Desert, Great Victorian Desert, Gibson Desert
•    mountains: Great Dividing Range, Australian Alps (Mt. Kosciusko)

4) New Zealand
•    2000 km south-east from Australia, population of 3.7 million
•    two large islands – North Island, South Island
•    largest town: Auckland (0.8 million inhabitants)
•    capital: Wellington
•    discovered by Abel Tasman in 1642
•    rich agricultural country: livestock breeding, cattle, sheep
•    production of meat (world’s biggest, lamb, beef, mutton), dairy products (butter, cheese, milk powder), wool
•    belongs to the British Commonwealth of Nations; Governor General, the House of Representatives (92)

Žádné komentáře: